Fellows' Gowning 2023 - 24 new fellows and a new President

24 senior IOC fellows gowned at House of Lords for 2023.

Institute of Couriers announce new President.

Meet the 2023 fellows

Take the Gallery Tour

Peter, Lord Hendy of Richmond Hill took the baton from Viscount Lord Falkland at House of Lords Fellows' Gowning March 3rd.

March 3rd, 2023, the IOC gowned a new President, recognised two honorary fellows and hooded two dozen senior fellows. Change at the Institute of Couriers - after thirty-two years as President of the Govt Stakeholder organisation for final mile express logistics, Viscount Lord Falkland handed the baton to a new President, Peter, Lord Hendy of Richmond Hill, who steps from Honorary fellow to President of the Institute.

IOC President to President, the handover took place at the Institute's prestigious annual fellows' gowning event on Friday March 3rd at the House of Lords. With Viscount Lord Falkland emeritus and the new President elected, the ceremonial gowning began for new fellows, a new double dozen on the terrace of the House of Lords.

IOC chairman Carl Lomas MBE explains,

Friday 3rd March, the ceremonial gowning of Fellows of the Institute of Couriers in the first year of the reign of King Charles III. Current senior fellows of the institute proudly stood in the traditional welcome line to congratulate the new. For 2023 this included the new President, Peter, Lord Hendy of Richmond Hill. 200 guests witnessed IOC President, Viscount Lord Falkland with his vice presidents, former transport ministers, Sir John Hayes CBE, Steve Norris and David Jamieson welcome the new.


Meet the 2023 fellows

Take the Gallery Tour


Two Honorary fellows elected to the Institute for 2023. TfL Commissioner Andy Lord & Aldermanic Sheriff Alison Gowman, both delivered a keynote address for the evening.

IOC CEO, Dr Tracey Worth,

Invited VIP guests include DfT, DEFRA, DfE and DVSA amongst regional bodies including TFWM and TfGM and National Police and Army represented by the Royal Logistic Corps. Non-exec members of the IOC board, led by former City of London Corporation director Carolyn Dwyer, were in attendance to welcome the new fellows - board members Melanie Stancliffe, William Jenkins, Callum Macpherson, Paul Sainthouse & David Stringer-Lamarre with Honorary Fellows Loveday Ryder, head of DVSA, Traffic Commissioner Sarah Bell, Leon Daniels and Mike Brown all welcomed the new.


2023 fellows gowning groups 1

Guests at the IOC fellows' gowning 2023


2023 fellows gowning groups 2

Lord Peter, hon fellows and the new Andy Lord & Alison Gowman


2023 fellows gowning groups 3

IOC CEO Dr Tracey Worth and chair Carl Lomas MBE



2023 fellows gowning groups 4

Members of the IOC board, William Jenkins, David Stringer Lamarre and Callum Macpherson with new hon fellow, Alderman Alison Gowman



2023 fellows gowning groups 5

Fellows celebrate – take the link above for a full gallery our



2023 fellows gowning groups 6

Evri team at gowning 2023

 Fellows' Gowning 2023 - Gallery

Last modified on Tuesday, 07 March 2023 19:20