IoC news - Fellows Gowning

IoC news - Fellows Gowning


Institute of Couriers House of Lords New Fellows' Gowning - 28th February 2020

fellows honoraries full 900px

Friday 28th February will see the Sixty-eighth year since Queen Elizabeth II ascended to the throne. 200 guests witness Viscount Falkland President, Vice Presidents and former ministers Sir John Hayes CBE, Steve Norris and David Jamieson ceremonially gowning new fellows of the IoC on the terrace of the House of Lords. There will be a new Honorary Fellow, a life services gown award to Alistair Cochrane and a military associate and three very special National Courier Awards presidential nominations. Invited guests from DfT, DWP and DfE amongst TfL and TfGM, together with the Master Carmen and the Royal Logistics Corp.

2020 milestone – Viscount Lord Falkland in his 85th year will step from President to Emeritus. Current fellows will then proudly stand in the traditional welcome line to welcome the new. 2020 sees three very special fellows who have presidential nominations recognised from the 2019 National Courier Awards, services above and beyond a National Courier Award go to Will Friar Rush Couriers, Monika Haromszeki Hermes and Monica Pound City Sprint take the top honour of first fellows gowned 2020.

Honorary Fellows Sir Peter Hendy Chairman Network Rail, Prof. Liz Barnes Vice Chancellor of the University of Staffordshire and Traffic Commissioner Sarah Bell welcomed Carolyn Dwyer, Director of City of London Corporation responsible for surface transport as the new Honorary Fellow for 2019.

A Services to Industry gown is to be awarded to Alistair Cochrane Whistl by former winners, Adrian Smith of Swift Logistics, Jeffrey Ritterband, Kevin Grey, Justin Moore and Kate Lester who will join Lord Falkland to present the gold hood.

Sgt Simon Miller Army reserves becomes an Honorary Associate Member from his National Courier Award win in 2019.

2020 looks set to be a year to remember, the first ever degree starts in Express Manager at University of West London as Express numbers continue their explosion and top talk from the top players will be at your fingertips in the network event of final mile, express and courier for 2020.

high resolution images of the 2020 event are available for download in the photo bank



 2020 feb ioc organisation 1368x994

2018 - John Hayes CBE elected new Vice President, Honorary Fellowship awarded to Leon Daniels. Kate Lester takes  Services to Industry hood.

2017 - The honorary gown was awarded to Heathrow boss John Holland-Kaye.

2016 - Fellows hand the gown to their President and recognise eighty years...New TfL boss took honorary fellowship & first-ever honorary associateship for the Army. Viscount, Lord Falkland, celebrating his eighty years...Sixty-four years since Queen Elizabeth II ascended to the throne...TfL boss Mike Brown awarded the hon fellowship, 12 new Fellows were gowned by IOC President Viscount, Lord Falkland.

Front Sitting from left to right: Adrian Smith Swift Group, Dean Mansell Briggs Equipment, Sir Peter Hendy Transport for London, Jeffrey Ritterband CitySprint, Viscount Falkland President, Kevin Grey Point to Point, Martin Poole CitySprint, Paul Tyson DX, David Smith City Link, Nigel Barton System


House of Lords New Fellows Gowning, December 19th, 2012

Freight, future and friendship was a theme for the evening of the 2012 gowning ceremony, from those three 'F's came one more, Fellows.

Hosted by IoC President Viscount Falkland the ceremony took place in the House of Lords. Fellows gowned are individuals recognised at the very top of their career path in the logistics industry.


Page 2 of 2